Glue

Thursday last week I was admitted to the hospital for 5 days due to an extreme asthma attack brought on by bronchitis.  A CT scan was done and it was determined that the lower lobe of my left lung had partially collapsed.  I had a bronchoscopy done on Sunday afternoon –  a procedure that normally takes ten minutes ended up taking an hour.  What it entailed was sticking a scope into my lungs and suctioning out mucus from around the aveoli, the grape-like cluster in your lungs that oxygen transfers through into your blood.  The doctor had to go in seven times to clean out my lungs.  Amazing how much easier it was to breathe afterward.

It was a scary few days, but apparently more so for my husband than me.  He was awesome, staying by my side through it all.  He told me that he didn’t want anything to happen to me because I’m the glue that holds the family together.

I got to thinking about what he said and how I consider my own mother to be the glue who keeps all our family together.  I discovered something.  It’s not each of as individuals who are the “glue,” it’s the Holy Spirit in us who is the glue holding us together.  In my mom, and in me.  People seem to depend on us, family members specifically, to keep things running smoothly, to be there for them, to take care of them.  Yes, I could do it on my own, but without the Holy Spirit guiding me it would be much more difficult.  He gives us grace, patience, knowledge and wisdom, as well as love and understanding, to do what needs to be done.  I couldn’t function without his presence in my life, and am so glad that I don’t have to.

I thank God for being with me this past week and a half.  I thought it might be my time to go, but obviously it wasn’t as I am still here.  I have work to do, and am looking forward to what he has in store for me.

One thought on “Glue

  1. aagrove9 November 21, 2015 / 6:19 PM

    Amen! All praise and glory to God our Father and Jesus Christ our LORD and Saviour!

    Like

Leave a Reply

