The proper pronunciation of the Messiah’s Hebrew name

Apparently, there is a “discussion” going on about the proper pronunciation of Jesus’ Hebrew name, and about the English name “Jesus” as well.  After doing a little research, I came upon the following webpages that offer a definitive answer to this controversy.  Hopefully, these will clear up any misconceptions about our Savior’s name.  Enjoy.

Yehoshua to Jesus and back again!

The Messiah’s Hebrew Name: “Yeshua” or “Yahshua”?

Is the name ‘Jesus’ derived from the Greek god ‘Zeus’?

Jesus is not Zeus

What is the original Hebrew name for Jesus?  And is it true that the name Jesus is really a pagan corruption of the name Zeus?

2 thoughts on “The proper pronunciation of the Messiah’s Hebrew name

  1. Cynthia October 21, 2012 / 5:36 PM

    Sister, in November last year the Lord Himself said to me His name is Yeshua. In the vision just before I got up from bed, I was looking up at “Via Dolorosa” in the old city in Jerusalem (I was there during Sukkot the month before). Then the Lord said to me, “Who is their Christ?” Before I could answer He went on, “It’s not me; I am Yeshua.”

    Since then I always preferred to use His name “Yeshua” but still use Jesus for the sake of those who have no idea of His true name, so as not to cause confusion or cause others to stumble whose eyes are not yet opened to the Jewish roots of the Christian faith. My prayer is that the Lord will open the eyes of the saints to see who He really is.

    Thanks for visiting my blog and following too. May you blessed more and more with rich spiritual blessings from our Father.

    Love in Yeshua,

    Cynthia

    Like

    • Nina Stone October 22, 2012 / 7:05 AM

      Hi Cynthia,

      Thank you for your thoughts on this matter. Yeshua is what I prefer to call him as well. I’ve seen that there is a lot of controversy within the Hebrew Roots/Messianic movement about the proper spelling of his name. That is one of the reasons I posted those links.

      I came across your blog yesterday, and have been trying to catch up on all that you have written. It humbles me that there are people in other countries who are interceding for this country. We certainly need it, but I personally feel that America has crossed a line and there is no going back. I feel that judgement is coming on my country and sooner rather than later. So, instead of praying for the salvation of America, I’ve been praying for the salvation of my family and friends.

      Thank you for following me. I don’t post as often as I would like, but I will certainly try to improve on that.

      Many blessings to you for your obedience to our Lord.

      Like

Leave a Reply

