Effectual Fervent Prayer

…The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much. James 5:16

After having gone through a “dry spell,” as a friend called it, for a couple years, God has recently brought me back to reality hard and fast. Because I was away from Him, reading my Bible, and praying, I feel as if I’m a brand new believer learning everything all over again. It’s been an exciting time for me.

And I have witnessed in a most powerful way how God answers prayer. I have been praying for my husband and sons’ salvation, and within the last couple weeks my oldest son has started to talking to me about what’s been happening to him since Christmas. Apparently, God’s been working on his heart big time. From the first time he told me that he thinks maybe God has been talking to him (a couple weeks ago) to now, he has made tremendous strides forward. He is studying and searching and having some great discussions not only with me but with a friend of his from college. I don’t think he has accepted Jesus as his Savior yet, but I have no doubt that he will. The last time we talked he told me that I didn’t have to worry about him anymore, and that I could focus my prayers on his dad and younger brother. I just laughed and told him that I would never quit praying for him. And I won’t.

My heart is bursting with joy. I am rejoicing that God is answering this particular prayer. He’s been answering others as well, but this one is the most precious and important.

Leave a Reply

